Board of Directors

The Board of Directors for the Center for Cyber and Homeland Security provide high-level guidance and support to the leadership team at the Center, and help to sustain and grow its policy and research activities.   

The Board is chaired by J. Richard Knop, the Founder and Co-Manager of FedCap Partners and a member of the University’s Board of Trustees.   The membership of the board includes former senior government officials, private sector executives, and other national leaders with expertise in cybersecurity, counterterrorism and homeland security.

Richard V. Allen, Former Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs.

Michael Balboni, President and Managing Director, RedLand Strategies Inc. Former Deputy Secretary for Public Safety, State of New York.

Ambassador Cofer Black, Former Ambassador at Large and Coordinator for Counter-terrorism, Department of State.  Former Director, Counterterrorism Center, Central Intelligence Agency.

Lieutenant General Ronald L. Burgess, Jr. (US Army, Ret.), Senior Counsel for National Security Programs, Cyber Programs, and Military Affairs, Auburn University.  Former Director, Defense Intelligence Agency

Judge Michael Chertoff, Co-Founder and Executive Chairman, The Chertoff Group.  Former Secretary, U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

Michael Downing, Deputy Chief, Counter-Terrorism and Special Operations Bureau, Los Angeles Police Department.

Amr ElSawy, President and Chief Executive Officer, Noblis.

Martin Faga, Former President and CEO, The MITRE Corporation.  Former Director, National Reconnaissance Office.

Ambassador Alberto Fernandez, Vice President, MEMRI.  Former Coordinator, Center for Strategic Counterterrorism Communications, U.S. Department of State.

Leon Fuerth,  Practitioner in Residence, Institute for Global and International Studies, The Elliott School of International Affairs, The George Washington University.  Former Assistant to the Vice President for National Security Affairs.

J. Richard Knop, Founder and Co-Manager, FedCap Partners.  Member, Board of Trustees, The George Washington University.

Ambassador Tom Korologos, Strategic Advisor, DLA Piper.  Former US Ambassador to the Kingdom of Belgium.

John Lainhart, Partner, IBM Global Business Services.

Cathy Lanier, Chief, Metropolitan Police Department of the District of Columbia.

Jane Holl Lute, CEO, Center for Internet Security.   Former Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

Ronald Marks, President and Senior Partner, Intelligence Enterprises, LLC.   Former officer, Central Intelligence Agency.

Cheri McGuire, Vice President, Standard Chartered Bank

Paul McHale, President, Civil Support International LLC.  Former Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense, U.S. Department of Defense.  Former Member of Congress.

Edwin Meese, III, Ronald Reagan Distinguished Fellow Emeritus, The Heritage Foundation.  Former U.S. Attorney General.

Robert Nichols, Partner, Covington & Burling LLP.

John Paczkowski, Senior Vice President, Homeland Security and National Resilience, ICF International.

Dr. Michael Papay, Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer, Northrop Grumman.

R. David Paulison, Former Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency.

B.J. Penn, President Genesis IV Executive Consulting, former Asst Secretary of the Navy and Acting Secretary of the Navy, Trustee Emeritus George Washington University

Thomas Ridge, CEO, Ridge Global.  Former Secretary, U.S. Department of Homeland Security.  Former Governor, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and former Member of Congress.

Andrew Robinson, Chief Operations Officer, Robbins Gioia.

Bob Rose, Robert Rose Consulting LLC. 

Nick Schacht, Chief Executive Officer, KnowCyber LLC.

Judge William Sessions, Partner, Holland & Knight.  Former Director, Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Paul Stockton, Managing Director, Sonecon, LLC.  Former Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense and Americas' Security Affairs, U.S. Department of Defense.

Major General Douglas Stone, (U.S. Marine Corps, Ret.), CEO, STAC Solutions.  Former Multinational Forces-Iraq Deputy Commanding General for Detainee Operations.

Ambassador Richard Swett, CEO, Climate Prosperity Enterprise Solutions LLC.  Former U.S. Ambassador to the Kingdom of Denmark.  Former Member of Congress.

Adam Thiel, Fire Commissioner, Philidelphia Fire Department.

Frances Fragos Townsend, Executive Vice President, MacAndrews & Forbes Inc. Former Assistant to the President for Homeland Security and Counterterrorism.

Jim Turner, Senior Partner, Arnold & Porter, LLP.  Former Member of Congress.

Kenneth L. Wainstein, Partner, Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP. Former Assistant to the President for Homeland Security and Counterterrorism.  Former Assistant Attorney General for National Security, U.S. Department of Justice.

Judge William Webster, Former Director of Central Intelligence.  Former Director, Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Juan Zarate, Chairman and Co-Founder, Financial Integrity Network.  Former Deputy Assistant to the President and Deputy National Security Advisor for Combating Terrorism.