CCHS Announces New Board of Directors

June 24, 2015

The Center for Cyber & Homeland Security (CCHS) at the George Washington University is pleased to announce the membership of its new Board of Directors.  The members of this Board provide high-level guidance and support to the leadership team at the Center, and help to sustain and grow its policy and research activities.   

The Board is chaired by J. Richard Knop, the Founder and Co-Manager of FedCap Partners and a member of the University’s Board of Trustees.   The membership of the board includes former senior government officials, private sector executives, and other national leaders with expertise in cybersecurity, counterterrorism and homeland security.

“I am pleased to chair this Board of Directors, which will shape and inform the Center’s policy and research agenda for the coming years,” said Knop.  “The Board will also assist with identifying new research opportunities and partnerships for the Center.”

“Our new Board of Directors includes individuals who have provided decades of service to our nation in support of U.S. national security,” said Frank Cilluffo, Director of CCHS.  “I am honored to be able to draw on their advice and counsel as the Center contributes to the policy dialogue on a variety of national security issues.”

The GW Center for Cyber and Homeland Security (CCHS) was established in January 2015 to integrate the activities of two existing policy centers within the George Washington University: the Homeland Security Policy Institute (HSPI), which was established in 2003, and the GW Cybersecurity Initiative, which was established in 2012. 

Building on the longstanding track record of these two entities, CCHS convenes leading experts and policy practitioners at dozens of senior-level events (both on and off the record) each year.  Past speakers at events include senior U.S. government officials, members of Congress, private sector executives, and foreign leaders.  CCHS also regularly publishes policy-relevant research and analysis and provides expert testimony to Congress on critical issues and challenges related to cybersecurity, counterterrorism, and homeland security. 

The Center is led by Frank Cilluffo, a former Special Assistant to the President for Homeland Security, and by Christian Beckner, a former Associate Staff Director with the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee.   The Center also recently established a new Program on Extremism to focus on issues related to radicalization and countering violent extremism, led by noted experts Lorenzo Vidino and Seamus Hughes.

The membership of the Center’s new Board of Directors is as follows:

Richard V. Allen, Former Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs.

Michael Balboni, President and Managing Director, RedLand Strategies Inc. Former Deputy Secretary for Public Safety, State of New York.

Ambassador Cofer Black, Former Ambassador at Large and Coordinator for Counter-terrorism, Department of State.  Former Director, Counterterrorism Center, Central Intelligence Agency.

Lieutenant General Ronald L. Burgess, Jr. (US Army, Ret.), Senior Counsel for National Security Programs, Cyber Programs, and Military Affairs, Auburn University.  Former Director, Defense Intelligence Agency

Judge Michael Chertoff, Co-Founder and Executive Chairman, The Chertoff Group.  Former Secretary, U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

Michael Downing, Deputy Chief, Counter-Terrorism and Special Operations Bureau, Los Angeles Police Department.

Amr ElSawy, President and Chief Executive Officer, Noblis.

Martin Faga, Former President and CEO, The MITRE Corporation.  Former Director, National Reconnaissance Office.

Ambassador Alberto Fernandez, Vice President, MEMRI.  Former Coordinator, Center for Strategic Counterterrorism Communications, U.S. Department of State.

Leon Fuerth,  Practitioner in Residence, Institute for Global and International Studies, The Elliott School of International Affairs, The George Washington University.  Former Assistant to the Vice President for National Security Affairs.

J. Richard Knop, Founder and Co-Manager, FedCap Partners.  Member, Board of Trustees, The George Washington University.

Ambassador Tom Korologos, Strategic Advisor, DLA Piper.  Former US Ambassador to the Kingdom of Belgium.

John Lainhart, Partner, IBM Global Business Services.

Cathy Lanier, Chief, Metropolitan Police Department of the District of Columbia.

Jane Holl Lute, CEO, Center for Internet Security.   Former Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

Ronald Marks, President and Senior Partner, Intelligence Enterprises, LLC.   Former officer, Central Intelligence Agency.

Cheri McGuire, Vice President, Global Government Affairs & Cybersecurity Policy, Symantec Corporation.

Paul McHale, President, Civil Support International LLC.  Former Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense, U.S. Department of Defense.  Former Member of Congress.

Edwin Meese, III, Ronald Reagan Distinguished Fellow Emeritus, The Heritage Foundation.  Former U.S. Attorney General.

Robert Nichols, Partner, Covington & Burling LLP.

Dr. Michael Papay, Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer, Northrop Grumman.

R. David Paulison, Former Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Thomas Ridge, CEO, Ridge Global.  Former Secretary, U.S. Department of Homeland Security.  Former Governor, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and former Member of Congress.

Andrew Robinson, Senior Vice President, Enterprise Management and Resilience, ICF International.

Bob Rose, Robert Rose Consulting LLC. 

Nick Schacht, Chief Executive Officer, KnowCyber LLC.

Howard Schmidt, Partner, Ridge-Schmidt Cyber LLC.   Former Special Assistant to the President and Cybersecurity Coordinator. 

Judge William Sessions, Partner, Holland & Knight.  Former Director, Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Paul Stockton, Managing Director, Sonecon, LLC.  Former Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense and Americas' Security Affairs, U.S. Department of Defense.

Major General Douglas Stone, (U.S. Marine Corps, Ret.), CEO, STAC Solutions.  Former Multinational Forces-Iraq Deputy Commanding General for Detainee Operations.

Ambassador Richard Swett, CEO, Climate Prosperity Enterprise Solutions LLC.  Former U.S. Ambassador to the Kingdom of Denmark.  Former Member of Congress.

Adam Thiel, Deputy Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security, Commonwealth of Virginia.

Frances Fragos Townsend, Executive Vice President, MacAndrews & Forbes Inc. Former Assistant to the President for Homeland Security and Counterterrorism.

Jim Turner, Senior Partner, Arnold & Porter, LLP.  Former Member of Congress.

Kenneth L. Wainstein, Partner, Cadwalader, Wickersham and Taft LLP.  Former Assistant to the President for Homeland Security and Counterterrorism.  Former Assistant Attorney General for National Security, U.S. Department of Justice.

Judge William Webster, Former Director of Central Intelligence.  Former Director, Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Juan Zarate, Chairman and Co-Founder, Financial Integrity Network.  Former Deputy Assistant to the President and Deputy National Security Advisor for Combating Terrorism.