GW Center for Cyber & Homeland Security Announces New Senior Fellows

March 30, 2015

The GW Center for Cyber & Homeland Security (CCHS) is pleased to announce the selection of its new cohort of senior fellows, who were selected earlier this month following an open, competitive process and will serve in the position for a two-year term starting on April 1, 2015.

CCHS's non-resident senior fellows are a distinguished group of policy experts and practitioners in the areas of cybersecurity, counterterrorism, and homeland security, drawn from the private sector, government, academia, and the non-profit sector. 

CCHS senior fellows help to set the Center's policy and research agenda through their role serving on one of the Center's four standing task forces. In addition, senior fellows contribute to the work of the Center by participating as speakers at policy events; writing and publishing policy reports, opinion pieces, and blog posts; and engaging in outreach with the news media and other stakeholders.

"This new group of senior fellows brings a wealth of experience and talent to the priority issues for the Center," said Frank Cilluffo, Director of CCHS. "We look forward to integrating them into our work and highlighting their expertise in the months and years ahead."

"We are excited to bring this distinguished group into our work, and have them contribute to the dialogue on the critical policy issues that the Center addresses," CCHS Deputy Director Christian Beckner explained further. "The fellows will provide their expertise to the Center in the next two years, including on such issues as terrorist groups' threats to the homeland and their use of social media to facilitate recruitment; private sector companies' authorities to protect themselves against cyber threats; and the security and resilience of critical infrastructure."

The GW Center for Cyber & Homeland Security is a nonpartisan “think and do” tank whose mission is to carry out policy-relevant research and analysis on homeland security, counterterrorism, and cybersecurity issues.  CCHS was established in early 2015 and integrates the activities and personnel of the Homeland Security Policy Institute (HSPI) and the GW Cybersecurity Initiative.

The full list of CCHS senior fellows are listed below, segmented by the four task forces on which they will each serve.

A. Counterterrorism and Intelligence Task Force

Max Abrahms, Northeastern University
David Carabin, Boston Police Department
Pierre-Edouard Colliex, Ministry of Interior, French Republic
Matthew Doherty, Hillard Heintze
Rich Esposito, NBC News
Kevin Giblin, Mercyhurst College Ireland
David Gomez, Tetra Tech, EMI
Scott Helfstein, BNY Mellon Investment Management
John Kavanagh, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Paul Kissel, Office of the Director of National Intelligence
Kalev Leetaru, GDELT Project
Jon Nowick, Leidos
Brian Nussbaum, State University of New York (SUNY) at Albany’s Rockefeller College of Public Affairs
Aki Peritz, Center for Intelligence Policy
Heather Raiti, Entegra Systems
Ambassador Javier Ruperez, Ruperez International, LLC
Paul Smith, Lawrenson Smith, LLC
Keith Squires, Utah Department of Public Safety
Todd Stein, 1Unit, LLC
Michelle van Cleave, Jack Kemp Foundation
Christopher Voss, The Black Swan Group

B. Cybersecurity Task Force

Michael Aisenberg, The MITRE Corporation
Adam Bobrow, Foresight Resilience Strategies
Colonel Jonalan Brickey, Army Cyber Institute
Robert Dannenberg, Independent Consultant
Helen Domenici, Independent Consultant
Lindsay Dorland, Zeichner Risk Analytics, LLC
Michael Edwards, Northrop Grumman
Brian Finch, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
Gregory Gardner, NetApp
Jeff Greene, Symantec Corporation
Geoff Hancock, Advanced Cybersecurity Group
Gail Harris, Independent Consultant
Dan Horowitz, H3 Strategies, LLC
Nathan Lesser, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Charles Magness, Northrop Grumman
Matthew McCabe, Marsh
George Salmoiraghi, Independent Consultant
Mitch Silber, K2 Intelligence
Jeff Snyder, Raytheon Company
Clint Watts, Miburo Solutions, Inc.
Mark Young, IronNet Cybersecurity, Inc.

C. Preparedness and Infrastructure Resilience Task Force

Ray Barishansky, Connecticut Department of Public Health
Jason Thomas Barnosky, National Emergency Management Association
Nicholas Cagliuso, New York City Health & Hospitals Corporation
Darrell Darnell, The George Washington University
William Flynn, GARDA Risk Management, LLC
Daniel Kaniewski, Homeland Security Studies and Analysis Institute
David McIntyre, Texas A&M University
Jeanne Meserve, The Communication Center
Thomas Minton, Exelon Corporate Information Security Services
Kirstjen Nielsen, Sunesis Consulting, LLC
John Paczkowski, ICF International
Chip Rodgers, The Real Estate Roundtable
Ophelia Roman, Deloitte
Jeffrey Sarnacki, Quicken Loans
Rick Saunders, Dynamis, Inc.
Scott Somers, Phoenix Fire Department
Ronald Taylor, Center for Strategic Leadership in Complex Environments
Tevi Troy, American Health Policy Institute
Ginger Turner, Swiss Re
Andrew Weis, Aveshka, Inc.

D. Homeland Security Strategy and Emerging Threats Task Force

Richard Burke, Capgemini Government Solutions
Jordin Cohen, Noblis
Rich Cooper, U.S. Chamber of Commerce National Chamber Foundation
Chris Cummiskey, Cummiskey Strategic Solutions, LLC
Kenneth Dunlap, International Air Transport Association
Matthew Fleming, Homeland Security Studies and Analysis Institute
Patrick Forrest, National Association of Manufacturers
John Halinski, S&R Investments LLC
Monte Hawkins, Central Intelligence Agency
Jennifer Hesterman, Watermark Risk Management International
Randall Larsen, Homeland Security Associates, LLC
Carie Lemack, Independent Consultant
Thomas Leonard, The Enright Group
Robert Liscouski, Convergent Risk Group
Bruce Miller, Systems Planning and Analysis, Inc.
Todd Morris, SRA International, Inc.
Fred Rosa, RADM, USCG (Ret.), Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
Todd Rosenblum, National Security Outcomes
Michael Russell, American University
Chad Sweet, The Chertoff Group
David Trulio, Raytheon International, Inc.