Senior Fellows

Call for New Class of CCHS Senior Fellows - June 15, 2017

The GW Center for Cyber and Homeland Security (CCHS) at the George Washington University is pleased to announce that it is currently seeking applicants for a new class of senior fellows for a two-year term that will begin in the fall of 2017. The Center is a leading think tank that carries out independent and non-partisan policy analysis and research on homeland security, counterterrorism, and cybersecurity issues. 

CCHS's cadre of non-resident senior fellows are a distinguished group of policy experts and practitioners in the areas of cyber and homeland security, drawn from the private sector, government, academia and the non-profit sector. 

CCHS senior fellows are active participants in the work of the Center. For the new cohort, CCHS is looking to place its senior fellows into two groups: one focused on cybersecurity and the impacts of technology on national security; the second on homeland security and counterterrorism-related issues.  All senior fellows will be expected to be active participants in contribution to the Center's policy and research agenda in these areas, including by participating in events, writing and publishing policy papers; and engaging in outreach with the news media and other stakeholders. 

In order to apply to be a CCHS senior fellow for the new 2017-2019 term, please send a cover letter and CV or resume to us by email ( by no later than 6pm EST on Monday, July 17, 2017.

The cover letter should detail the applicant's areas of expertise, as well as specific objectives in seeking to become a senior fellow.  In the letter, applicants are encouraged to propose one or more topics for an initial event, report or project where they may want to focus their efforts.  

CCHS senior fellows will be selected on the basis of their individual expertise, professional accomplishment, and stated objectives with respect to utilizing the senior fellow role in support of the Center's priorities. Note that senior fellows are not employees of the Center for Cyber and Homeland Security or the George Washington University.  

If you have any questions about the CCHS senior fellows program and/or the application process, please contact the Center by e-mail at

List of Current CCHS Senior Fellows


Note: Senior Fellows are not CCHS employees. Please use the below hyperlinks to individual web pages for any available contact information, otherwise email the Center at with any inquiries.


Current CCHS senior fellows are listed below, segmented by the four task forces on which they each serve.


A. Counterterrorism and Intelligence Task Force

Max Abrahms, Northeastern University
David CarabinBoston Police Department
Pierre-Edouard ColliexMinistry of Interior, French Republic
Matthew DohertyHillard Heintze
Rich EspositoNBC News
Kevin Giblin, Mercyhurst College Ireland
David GomezTetra Tech, EMI
Scott HelfsteinBNY Mellon Investment Management
John KavanaghPricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Paul Kissel, Office of the Director of National Intelligence
Kalev Leetaru, GDELT Project
Jon NowickLeidos
Brian NussbaumState University of New York (SUNY) at Albany’s Rockefeller College of Public Affairs
Aki PeritzCenter for Intelligence Policy
Heather RaitiEntegra Systems
Ambassador Javier RuperezRuperez International, LLC
Paul SmithLawrenson Smith, LLC
Keith SquiresUtah Department of Public Safety
Todd Stein, 1Unit, LLC
Michelle van CleaveJack Kemp Foundation
Christopher Voss, The Black Swan Group

B. Cybersecurity Task Force

Michael AisenbergThe MITRE Corporation
Adam BobrowForesight Resilience Strategies
Colonel Jonalan Brickey, Army Cyber Institute
Robert DannenbergIndependent Consultant
Helen DomeniciIndependent Consultant
Lindsay Dorland, Zeichner Risk Analytics, LLC
Michael EdwardsNorthrop Grumman
Brian FinchPillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
Gregory Gardner, NetApp
Jeff GreeneSymantec Corporation
Geoff Hancock, Advanced Cybersecurity Group
Gail Harris, Independent Consultant
Dan HorowitzH3 Strategies, LLC
Nathan Lesser, Cypient
Charles MagnessNorthrop Grumman
Matthew McCabeMarsh 
George Salmoiraghi, Independent Consultant
Mitch Silber, K2 Intelligence
Jeff Snyder, Raytheon Company
Clint WattsMiburo Solutions, Inc.
Mark Young, IronNet Cybersecurity, Inc.

C. Preparedness and Infrastructure Resilience Task Force

Ray BarishanskyPennsylvania Department of Health
Jason Thomas BarnoskyObsidian, A Cadmus Company
Nicholas CagliusoNew York City Health & Hospitals Corporation
Darrell Darnell, The George Washington University
William FlynnGARDA Risk Management, LLC
Daniel KaniewskiAIR Worldwide
David McIntyre, Texas A&M University
Jeanne MeserveThe Communication Center
Thomas MintonExelon Corporate Information Security Services
Kirstjen NielsenDepartment of Homeland Security
Chip Rodgers, The Real Estate Roundtable
Ophelia Roman
Jeffrey SarnackiQuicken Loans
Rick Saunders, Dynamis, Inc.
Scott Somers, Phoenix Fire Department
Ronald TaylorCenter for Strategic Leadership in Complex Environments
Tevi TroyAmerican Health Policy Institute
Ginger TurnerSwiss Re
Andrew Weis, Aveshka, Inc.

D. Homeland Security Strategy and Emerging Threats Task Force

Richard Burke, Delta Risk, LLC
Andrew Coffey, Office of National Drug Control Policy
Jordin Cohen, Noblis
Rich CooperCatalyst Partners LLC
Chris Cummiskey, Cummiskey Strategic Solutions, LLC
Kenneth DunlapDorado Consulting Group
Matthew FlemingHomeland Security Studies and Analysis Institute
Patrick ForrestNational Association of Manufacturers
John HalinskiS&R Investments LLC
Monte HawkinsCentral Intelligence Agency
Jennifer HestermanWatermark Risk Management International
Randall LarsenHomeland Security Associates, LLC
Carie LemackIndependent Consultant
Thomas LeonardThe Enright Group
Robert Liscouski, Convergent Risk Group
Bruce Miller, Systems Planning and Analysis, Inc.
Todd Morris, Attain
Fred Rosa, RADM, USCG (Ret.), Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
Todd RosenblumIBM
Michael RussellAmerican University
Chad SweetThe Chertoff Group
David Trulio, Lockheed Martin